Topic Title: Lean in Prototype manufacturing/assembling
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/30/2017 04:56 AM
Linear : Threading
Send to a Friend Send to a Friend
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
09/01/2017 01:56 PM
Print this message

Author Icon
PEterMeier
PEter Meier

Hello,

my company wants to implement "Lean Thinking" and we first "testing"area ist the prototype assembling area. (This area only tests cupboard prototypes, this means, that they are assembling them and check, if the engineers did the right CAD construction)

My task is it now to implement Lean in the prototype area and to eliminate wastes.

I'm relative new to the Lean topic, i have some previous knowledge, but i never used them.
So i started research and I think, that the assembling of prototypes is something between job shop production and development.
My idea was: 1. to identificate wastes in the prototype assembling (Value stream mapping?)
2. to eliminate the waste by implementing lean methods.

My question is now: 1. Is the Value Steam Mapping tool the right method to identificate waste in Job Shops? I read, that it is only realizable in "ordinary" production processes.

2. Is my Plan ok or are there enhancements?

Many thanks.
09/05/2017 08:46 AM
Print this message

Author Icon
Nat_jb
Nat Manongsong

By prototype you mean products that have yet to go for mass production, right?
If yes, then creating a VSM might not be the right tool unless your process has been well defined and your cycle times are in place.

I suggest to start with a simple time study first and focus on the 7 wastes for your improvement plan. Good luck
09/06/2017 01:23 PM
Print this message

Author Icon
PEterMeier
PEter Meier

Yep,
after development we produce one prototype. If the assembling of the prototype works, then we go right through mass production.