Topic Title: Stellar example of Lean in Service/Office
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2017 07:59 PM
Linear : Threading
Send to a Friend Send to a Friend
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
11/17/2017 10:15 AM
Print this message

Author Icon
Ken Eakin

Does anyone know of any companies in the service/office space that have gone beyond the superficial tools of lean and have really reached a transformative level of lean excellence? I work in the financial sector and the only good example I've read about is Jefferson Pilot in this 2003(!) HBR article. (JPF now is Lincoln National Corporation-- not sure if Lean survived its acquisition). After almost 15 years, are there no more success stories from the "white-collar" world?
11/27/2017 12:18 PM
Print this message

Author Icon
Jack dom

thats amazing post ken eakin. good work. keep up date it.
12/01/2017 10:55 AM
Print this message

Author Icon
TonyHeath
Anthony Heath

Hello Ken.
I work for UnitedHealth Group's care delivery Organization Optum. I am a full time internal Lean consultant and I apply Lean thinking to every project I do. For example, I go see, assemble teams, create value stream maps, reduce service wastes in processes, lead development of standard work and task specific checklists. I recently gave a presentation to 112 Optum employees focused on seeing the service wastes. I also helped re-design a care delivery process that saved us $5M.
Paul Akers has re-inspired me and I follow his production as much as I can. As he says, everything is a process and everything can be changed.
I don't mean to claim that all is rosy and I have still much to learn. But I feel certain banking and healthcare delivery have lots in common as processes.
12/14/2017 02:18 PM
Print this message

Author Icon
Erick_Mo
Erick Mortera

Hi Ken,